Rhode Island State Parks

Rhode Island State Beaches: Parking Passes

The tiny Ocean State is home to an astounding 400+ miles of coastline. Season beach parking passes allow entry into parking lots at all eight of Rhode Island's state beaches.

Learn more

Parking Rates

Beach parking passes may be purchased from opening day in May through September (Labor Day). Patrons must purchase a new pass each year. Beach entrances accept CASH OR CREDIT CARDS only for daily parking fees. IF YOU PLAN TO PAY WITH CASH OR CREDIT, PLEASE HAVE YOUR PAYMENT METHOD READY AS YOU PULL UP TO THE ATTENDANT TO HELP KEEP TRAFFIC MOVING. Gift Certificates may be redeemed on weekdays for a season beach pass only.

Season beach parking passes may be purchased online anytime or in-person at the Scarborough State Beach Auxillary Lot (across the street from Scarborough North's main lot on Burnside Avenue) on weekends from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. beginning Saturday, May 15 and seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. beginning Saturday, May 29. Season passes allow entry into parking lots at all eight of Rhode Island's state beaches: Charlestown Breachway, East Beach in Charlestown, East Matunuck in South Kingstown, Misquamicut in Westerly, Roger Wheeler, Scarborough North and South, and Salty Brine in Narragansett. Note: The open season for amenities at Scarborough South State Beach is dependent on current seasonal staffing levels and may differ from other state beaches.

Resident
Season Pass: $30
Daily: M-F $6 | Sat/Sun/Holidays $7
Non-Resident
Season Pass: $60
Daily: M-F $12 | Sat/Sun/Holidays: $14
Senior Resident
Season Pass: $15
Daily: M-F $3 | Sat/Sun/Holidays $3.50
Senior Non-Resident
Season Pass: $30
Daily: M-F $6 | Sat/Sun/Holidays: $7

PUBLIC NOTICE: DEM has proposed fee changes for daily parking at Misquamicut State Beach; there are no proposed changes to fees at any other state beach location or to the cost of season passes. The proposed new rates are as follows: The daily parking rate for non-residents will increase from $12 to $20 on weekdays and from $14 to $30 on weekends & holidays; The daily parking rate for RI residents will increase from $6 to $10 on weekdays and from $7 to $15 on weekends and holidays. DEM held a public comment hearing on the proposed changes on April 26. If approved by the legislature after the rulemaking process, the new fee structure would take effect by July 1. The draft regulations can be found on the Secretary of State's website at https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-100-00-3

 

Online Beach Passes

Online Beach Passes  

Help Reduce Traffic Delays by Buying Your State Beach Parking Pass Online.

Get ready for the 2021 season by buying your season parking pass or daily flex pass online. Parking at RI state beaches no longer requires a physical pass, instead your vehicle's license plate will serve as your credential to enter state beach parking lots. Beach attendants use hand-held devices to scan the front license plate for information and anyone who buys their pass online or before heading to the beach will be able to use express lanes for quick entry. Simply go to the website and fill out the form to create your beach parking pass account. You will receive a confirmation email with instructions for completing your transaction.

Get your pass
 

Gift Certificates

Give the gift of beach parking!

If you would like to gift a RI State Season Beach Pass during the beach season or during the off season, you may purchase a Gift Certificate.

Gift certificates for RI state beach parking are available for purchase online and are good for a resident, non-resident, or senior RI state beach season pass. A gift certificate cannot be used towards the purchase of a daily flex pass.

Get started

Frequently Asked Questions

 

How might my beach experience be different now?

While enjoying outdoor spaces, beachgoers must continue to follow the CDC and RI Department of Health guidelines for preventing the spread of COVID-19:

 

How is the online beach pass system different from last season?

Building on progress made in 2020 when it offered online sales of beach passes for the first time, RI State Parks has worked with our beach parking vendor to launch a new website that allows customers to buy online gift certificates, season passes, and daily flex passes. Customers with a season pass or daily flex pass are able to use the Express Lanes at larger state beaches.

Beach entrances use license plate recognition technology that scans the license platess of prepaid customers’ vehicles and operates gate entrances.

 

Why are you calling daily passes Daily Flex Passes?

We’ve renamed daily passes to Daily Flex Passes because they work differently from previous years. Go to www.beachparkingri.com to create an online state beach pass account and choose a Daily Flex Pass. You’ll save your payment method in your account and will only be charged the daily rate when you enter state beach parking lots. Once purchased, you can use the Express Lanes at larger state beaches that use license plate recognition technology to scan the license plates of prepaid customers’ vehicles and operate gate entrances.

 

Does a daily pass allow me to park at multiple State beaches in a single day?

No. A daily pass allows you entry into one beach parking lot for the day. It does not allow you to visit multiple locations in a single day for the same cost. However, a season pass does allow multiple entries in a single day.

 

Can I purchase a season pass at beach entrances?

No, season passes are not sold at beach entrances. We are working hard to reduce traffic and wait times. Passes are still available to purchase in-person at the Scarborough State Beach overflow lot located across the street from Scarborough State Beach (on Burnside Avenue, Narragansett) on weekends from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. beginning Saturday, May 15 and seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. beginning Saturday, May 29. Or you can purchase your pass online.

 

How can I purchase a season beach parking pass online?

It’s easy! Just go to www.beachparkingri.com to purchase a resident, non-resident, or senior season beach at any time and follow the instructions. Online credit card purchases are charged a 6% transaction charge; the total for a $30 RI resident season pass purchased online is $31.80. Daily Flex Passes (previously called daily passes) are also available online. Learn more about daily flex passes. Your license plate will be your way into state beach parking lots.

When you purchase your pass online, you will receive an email response within 24-hours of creating your account. Follow the instructions in the email to finish your pass purchase and then you're ready to head to the beach!

 

What if I want to buy my pass online and head to the beach immediately?

It can take up to 24-hours to verify your account. We highly recommend you plan ahead and purchase your pass BEFORE you head to the beach. If you need immediate assistance, you can call the toll-free number provided to you when you sign up in the online beach pass system (this service is not active during pre-season sales).

 

Can I still purchase a season beach parking pass in person?

Yes, you can go to the Scarborough State Beach overflow lot located across the street from Scarborough State Beach (on Burnside Avenue, Narragansett) seven days a week from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Note To prevent traffic back ups on busy days, in person sales are not available when the overflow lot is being used for beach parking.

 

Why can’t I buy a season pass at beach entrances?

As part of DEM’s Beach More, Wait Less initiative, we are working hard to reduce traffic and wait times. It takes several minutes to purchase a season pass in person, which adds up to significant delays with thousands of cars on busy summer weekends. By having pre-purchased season passes on the cars when they approach the entrance, traffic will lessen, and you’ll get to the beach faster!

 

Why have beach passes moved online?

Moving the sale of beach passes online is an effort to make the process of obtaining a season pass as convenient and efficient as possible. DEM is also responding to requests from local town authorities to help reduce traffic build ups at state beach entrances for safety purposes. Passes are still available to purchase in-person at the Scarborough State Beach overflow lot located across the street from Scarborough State Beach (on Burnside Avenue) daily from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Note To prevent traffic back ups on busy days, in person sales are not available when the overflow lot is being used for beach parking.

 

There’s no traffic, why can’t I purchase a season pass at the beach?

As part of DEM’s Beach More, Wait Less initiative, we are working hard to reduce traffic and wait times. It takes several minutes to purchase a season pass, which adds up to significant delays with thousands of cars on busy summer weekends. By having pre-purchased season passes on the cars when they approach the entrance, traffic will lessen, and you’ll get to the beach faster! This new policy is set and structured to keep beach entrances free from traffic and reduce any confusion or frustration among our patrons and our workers.

 

How do I buy my season beach parking pass in-person?

During the beach season, you can purchase a pass at the Scarborough State Beach overflow lot located across the street from Scarborough State Beach (on Burnside Avenue) daily from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Note To prevent traffic back ups on busy days, in person sales are not available when the overflow lot is being used for beach parking.

 

Can I buy season passes for town or local beaches on your website? Will this pass let me into other beaches?

The season beach passes available online at www.beachparkingri.com are for state beaches only. These beaches include: Charlestown Breachway, East Beach, East Matunuck, Misquamicut, Roger Wheeler, Scarborough North and South, and Salty Brine.

   

Who manages state beach parking?

After a competitive bidding process, Rhode Island DEM contracted with LAZ Parking to operate and modernize parking at state beaches. The company – which manages more than a million parking spaces across the country for clients including California State Parks and Beaches and TF Green Airport – is using better technology to speed up entrance booths, expand online purchasing options, and track revenue in real time to ensure that fees are being collected accurately.

 

I need technical assistance buying my pass online. Who can help me?

If you have questions or need assistance, please call RI Parks at (401) 667-6200 (M-F 8:30 AM – 4 PM) or LAZ at ribeaches@lazparking.com.

 

Does purchasing a season pass online cost me more?

The cost of a parking pass online and in-person is the same. A 6% convenience fee is charged on online purchases to offset the cost of the system.

 

What is the cost of a Rhode Island State Beach Season Parking Pass?

The daily beach parking fee for residents is $6 on weekdays and $7 on weekends and holidays. The fee for a season pass for residents is $30 and, through September 2, will be available for purchase at state beaches. Non-resident parking is $12 on weekdays and $14 on weekends and holidays. A season pass is $60 for non-residents. A 50% discount on daily parking fees and season passes applies for senior citizens 65 years and older. All Rhode Island-registered vehicles will be subject to resident parking rates; non-Rhode Island plates will be subject to non-resident rates. Fees are based solely on the vehicle registration (i.e. license plate) of each vehicle entering beach facilities. (By law, a "vehicle" is defined as any street-legal equipment, motorized or non-motorized, properly registered for over-the-road travel.)

NOTE: DEM has proposed fee changes for daily parking at Misquamicut State Beach; there are no proposed changes to fees at any other state beach location or to the cost of season passes. The proposed new rates are as follows: The daily parking rate for non-residents will increase from $12 to $20 on weekdays and from $14 to $30 on weekends and holidays; The daily parking rate for RI residents will increase from $6 to $10 on weekdays and from $7 to $15 on weekends and holidays. DEM held a public hearing on the proposed changes on April 26. If approved by the legislature after the rulemaking process, the new fee structure would take effect by July 1. The draft regulations can be found on the Secretary of State's website at https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-100-00-3

 

How do I redeem my RI state beach gift certificate?

Gift certificates purchased at the RI State Parks headquarters can be redeemed for a season beach pass at any state beach entrance on weekdays or at the Scarborough State Beach overflow lot located across the street from Scarborough State Beach (on Burnside Avenue) daily from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Note To prevent traffic back ups on busy days, in person sales are not available when the overflow lot is being used for beach parking.

 

Who qualifies for a no-cost beach parking pass?

By Rhode Island State Law 32-1-17, no fee shall be charged to any person with a disability regardless of age, or to automobiles transporting a non-driver with a disability at any recreational facility owned by the state, provided, however, proper identification is presented as prescribed by the Department of Environmental Management. For the purpose of this section "person with a disability shall mean an individual who has a physical or mental impairment and is receiving: [A] Social Security disability (SSDI), [B] Supplemental Security Income benefits (SSI) or Veterans benefits and who shall be determined under applicable federal law by the Federal Department of Veteran's Affairs to be 100% disabled through a service connected injury.

INFORMATION FOR 2021 PASSES: View Factsheet

 

Can I purchase one season pass to switch between all my family’s vehicles?

Unfortunately, each season pass is required to be registered to only one vehicle. Season passes may not be switched between different vehicles. Your vehicle's license plate is your credential into the lot. If you’d like more than one season pass, you will have to purchase each additional pass individually.

 

What qualifications are required for a resident beach pass?

The vehicle must be registered in Rhode Island. For the purpose of administrating these fees, resident and non-resident vehicle fees shall be based solely upon the state of registration. vehicle shall mean any street legal equipment, motorized or non-motorized, properly registered for over the road travel.

 

I live in Rhode Island and my company provides me with an OUT OF STATE registered vehicle, can I obtain a resident Pass?

No, the vehicle must be registered in Rhode Island.

 

What is the Senior Citizen age for fee discounts?

Both for residents and non-residents, you must be 65 years of age or older.

 

I am stationed in RI with the US Military. Can I purchase a resident season pass?

Yes, military personnel whose permanent duty station is located in Rhode Island can be issued resident season passes or pay the resident day rate. You must provide a copy of your orders and drive and own the vehicle.

 

I participate in the RIPAE program. Am I exempt from paying an entrance fee to the State Beaches?

State Law 32-1-18: No entrance fee shall be charged to any person who is sixty-five years of age or older and who is eligible to participate in the RI Pharmaceutical Assistance to the elderly program. You must be driving and be eligible for the 60% income level indicated on the card. RIPAE Card must be marked 8018 not 8019 or 8020. Daily confirmation only, season passes are not issued for this program.

 

I am disabled; Am I exempt from paying an entrance fee to the State Beaches?

Yes, specific documentation is required to obtain a disability pass from RI State Park's headquarters, which is required for fee exemption at our State beaches. To obtain your picture ID you must provide current year social security disability certification listing you as disabled and collecting disability benefits with the Social Security Administration or a current year 100% Disabled Veteran’s Administration certificate. Passes are available only at RI State Parks Headquarters located at 1100 Tower Hill Road, North Kingstown from Monday-Friday 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM. Please call us with questions at 401-667-6200.

INFORMATION FOR 2021 PASSES: View Factsheet

 

Where can I obtain a Four-Wheel Drive Barrier beach pass for East Beach/Ninigret?

Coastal Resources Management Council (CRMC) is now processing all Beach Vehicle Permits/Trail passes ONLINE: http://www.crmc.ri.gov/offroadvehicles.html.

*Please Note: Once you’ve finished completing your online Beach Vehicle/4x4 Permit application, the CRMC will contact you to make an appointment to visit CRMC offices or Burlingame State Campground to pick up your Beach Vehicle/4x4 Permit sticker.* Parking on East Beach is on a first come first served basis. Therefore purchasing a Beach Vehicle Permit does not guarantee access to the East Beach Sand Trail. For information on pricing, equipment requirements and other regulations regarding barrier beach permits, visit the CRMC website.

 

Can I park my RV at a RI State Beach?

RV parking - outside of designated campground areas at RI State Beach locations - is only available at Scarborough South and Misquamicut State Beach.

 

Are there currently any public lands, parks or trails available for ATV use?

No, not at this time. There is no public property that is available for ATV use in the State of Rhode Island.

 

Is there smoking allowed on RI state beaches?

No. As of 2013, The Department of Environmental Management and the Department of Health (RIDOH) announced the start of a No Smoking Initiative at all Rhode Island state beaches. In doing so, Rhode Island joined the growing movement to keep beaches clean and to protect people and wildlife from the risks and ramifications of smoking at the beach.